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A point tournament

Our A point tournament on 12 June 
attracted a field of 17 tables.  It was won 
by our own Donna Ruwhiu playing with 
Patricia Haden.  This was a tremendous 
result for Donna and we all offer her our 
congratulations.  Special mention for John 
Mosley (4th) and also Frank Gradon and Judy 
Robertson who topped the afternoon section.

The success of the tournament is due to the 
commitment and industry of very many people 
and we must recognise that it doesn’t “just 
happen”.  Last month I played in an A point 
tournament at the Christchurch bridge club.  
As ever the bridge was enjoyable but the 
organisation and catering were poor 
compared to what we have become used to at 
Taieri.  Information was inconsistent and 
misleading and the local newsletter lamented 
that 39 (!) members had not renewed their 
subscription this year.  No wonder, given 
what I witnessed.  Give me Taieri any time.
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Answers to Checkback Stayman quiz (page 3)

1.  You have a balanced 16HCP.  Don’t bid 1♠!  
Show your hand with 1NT and leave Checkback 
Stayman to partner if she wishes.
2.  You don’t have 4 spades to show partner but 
you do have 3 hearts; support her by bidding 2♥.
3.  Your partner has used Checkback Stayman and 
you dutifully bid 2♠.  But she doesn’t seem 
interested in that so why did she bid Checkback 
Stayman?  It must be because she had 5 hearts.  
So now bid 4♥.
4.  You have a good hand and want to be in game 
opposite partner’s announced 15-16HCP.  Should 
you be in hearts or in no-trumps?  Find out by 
bidding a Checkback Stayman 2♣.

Postscript
Always remember that you are unique:- just like 
everybody else.

What's the difference between chopped beef and 
pea soup? 
Everyone can chop beef, but not everyone can pea 
soup!

What do you call a midget with ESP who has 
escaped from prison?
A small medium at large.
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Checkback Stayman
Most of us play Stayman: bidding 2♣ to ask for a 4 
card major after partner has opened 1NT.  
Checkback Stayman extends this principle to where 
opener has rebid 1NT.  For example, consider

1♦   -  P  -  1♥  -  P
1NT -  P  -  2♣

In normal Acol 2♣ shows clubs (and it’s usually a 
weak bid).  But why would you bid like this?  1NT 
will usually be a perfectly playable spot.
So, experts use 2♣ in this situation with a 
different meaning.  It asks:
1.  Do you have 4 spades?  And, if not,
2. Do you have 3 hearts?
Since the bid drives you to the two level you must 
have at least 8-9 points (in case you need to stop 
in 2NT).  If opener has 4 spades she bids 2♠.  If 
she hasn’t got 4 spades but has 3 card heart 
support she bids 2♥.  Otherwise she bids 2♦.
Are you wondering how on earth opener can have 4 
spades when she didn’t bid them on her rebid?  
That’s one of the advantages of Checkback 
Stayman.  Opener can bypass spades to show a 
balanced 15-16 HCP (which is very descriptive) 
knowing that responder can uncover a 4 card spade 
fit if necessary.  Checkback Stayman applies also 
if hearts and spades are switched round, and also 
when the opening bid is 1♣.  See the quiz on page 3.

A small medium at large.

Blasting
There are many styles of bidding.  At one extreme 
there are players who love complex bidding systems 
that enable their partnership to explore every 
nuance of the hand.  In slam auctions they can find 
the answer to subtle questions such as whether 
their partner has third round control in a 
particular suit.  This style is fine for regular 
partnerships who are prepared to invest hundreds 
of hours of discussion.  But it obviously does not 
suit all and it suffers from the disadvantage that 
the defenders get a “road map” of declarer’s hand 
which may well help them find the killing defence.
The other extreme is called “blasting”.  It is 
simply the technique of making the final bid as 
soon as you can even if you haven’t checked on all 
the things you might.  Suppose you hold this lowly 
hand:
♠ T 9 8 7; ♥ A Q 6; ♦ 9 8 7 6 5 4; ♣ void
Things begin to look up when your partner bids an 
Acol style 2♣.  You respond negatively with 2♦ and 
your partner bids 3♦ (natural).  What now?
There is much to be said for a simple 6♦!  Yes, you 
might find your partner with 2 losing spades and 
the opponents might lead that suit.  But they will 
be completely in the dark after your jump.  Conduct 
a delicate auction and you may find that the spade 
weakness is broadcast to the world.



6 3

A page from Dora the Director’s Diary
What an exhausting night! I was up and down like a 
yo-yo. Being a playing director is no easy task. 
Mostly, insufficient bids (no you can’t just make it 
sufficient, your opponent has the right to accept 
your first bid; only if they choose not to can you 
make it sufficient) and a case of declarer touching 
a card in dummy and then playing another one. 
Fortunately, this time, the defenders decided not 
to force declarer to play the first card. I 
reminded declarer that it’s in their best interest 
to tell dummy what card to play; not only does it 
keep dummy awake but it means they never get into 
strife with their opponents. Then of course there 
was also the case of the hidden trump in dummy 
which got caught behind the club suit. Dummy’s 
revoked said the defenders! After much looking up 
in the rule book, it turns out that dummy can’t 
revoke! It’s everyone’s responsibility at the table 
to make sure dummy has 13 cards. Only if dummy’s 
trump had won a trick (which it didn’t) would the 
score be adjusted and then only to what it should 
have been without that trick.
Sitting down was just as exhausting. The 
complaints about a certain someone’s unseemly 
attire kept coming. I’m quite fond of her Aunt 
Frieda but somehow I’ll have to have a quiet word 
about the distractions her clothing or lack of it 
caused.

The Arts Page

Donna Nobis Pacem
With skill she’s achieved greatest honour
Let the plaudits be heaped high upon her
A momentous event
The A tournament
Has been won by our very own Donna

What do you call a fish with no eyes? 
A fsh. 

Atheism is a non-prophet organisation.

Checkback Stayman quiz
1.  Holding ♠ A T 8 6; ♥ Q J 3; ♦ A 9; ♣ K Q 6 4
you open 1♣, and partner rebids 1♥.  Your rebid?
2.  Holding ♠ A T 8; ♥ Q J 3; ♦ A 9 8; ♣ K Q 6 4
you open 1♣ , partner bids 1♥, you bid 1NT, and 
partner bids 2♣.  Your next bid?
3,  Holding ♠ J T 8 6; ♥ Q J 3; ♦ A Q; ♣ A Q 6 4
What, if anything, do you do after this 
uncontested auction?  

1♣  - 1♥  - 1NT  - 2♣  - 2♠  - 3NT?
4.  Holding ♠ T 8 6; ♥ K Q J 9 3; ♦ A 2; ♣ J 6 4
partner bids 1♣, you bid 1♥, and she bids 1NT.  
What do you bid now?

Answers on page 8.
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Voluptua’s confusion: part 2
It was the last board of the night and Voluptua 
and Frieda were once more facing Randy and 
Gordon.  Preparing for the fray Voluptua casually 
undid one more button from an already revealing 
blouse; she was determined to attract Randy’s 
attention.  An uninspired auction led to Randy 
(East) declaring 3NT with Voluptua (South) on 
lead.  “All’s fair in love and war” thought Voluptua 
and so, in the pretence of fingering her cards 
deciding what to lead, she “accidentally” dropped 
one of them into her capacious cleavage.  Randy 
went scarlet as Voluptua with much wiggling 
retrieved the card which everyone saw was the K♣.  
The director ruled that this was an exposed card 
(among other things exposed) and it had to be led.  
When Voluptua saw that dummy was

♠ 8 5 4; ♥ T 9 8; ♦ 4 3; ♣ A Q 4 3 2
she felt she might have given the contract away.
Randy, completed deceived by the entire charade, 
saw an opportunity to be a gentleman and he 
therefore played low in dummy.  Surely, he thought, 
Voluptua would reward him for not taking 
advantage of her error.
He played the hand in an anticipatory daze.  
Winning the diamond switch he cashed all his top 
winners, found that clubs divided and came to 9 
tricks.  The score sheet revealed that all other 

♠ T 7 6 3 
♥ 8 5
♦ Q T 8 2
♣ J T 5

♠ 8 5 4 ♠ A K 9
♥ 4 3 2 ♥ A K T 9
♦ 4 3 ♦ A J 6 5
♣ A Q 4 3 2 ♣ 9 8

♠ Q J 2
♥ Q J 7 6
♦ K 9 7
♣ K 7 6

declarers had failed and so he had earned a top.
“Not grabbing that A♣ was a very fine play” 
observed Gordon “you found the only way to play 
the suit for 4 tricks”.
Voluptua was rather peeved though.  In retrospect 
she had realised that her K♣ lead was actually 
quite brilliant in tempting declarer to win the Ace 
(in which case the club suit would have provided 2 
tricks only).  “How on earth did you find that line, 
Randy?” she asked.  Randy had mixed feelings since 
the end result was not quite what he had intended 
and he lapsed into a confused but gracious 
response.  “You found a wonderful lead, Voluptua” 
said he “and I was fortunate to make the contract 
despite your breast endeavours”.


