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Table stationery
The “bidding pad” is a standard accessory at 
the table and we sometimes forget it was 
not always done like this.  Spoken bidding 
was very common even at the highest level in 
the early days of bridge.  As bridge became 
more competitive measures had to be taken 
to reduce the possibility of inferring 
information from partner’s tone of voice.  
Many will remember the “silent bidders” 
which contained the numbers 1 to 7 together 
with the suit symbols.  Bids were designated 
by pointing appropriately.  In many countries 
bidding boxes with a card for every possible 
bid are used; they are pulled out and laid on 
the table.  At the higher levels there are 
screens so that one cannot even see one’s 
partner and take inferences from their body 
language.  Sadly, these devices have not 
succeeded in eradicating cheating.  The most 
famous case of this was the (almost 
certainly true) accusations brought against 
Britain’s Terence Reece and Boris Shapiro 
at Buenos Aires in 1965.  They (allegedly) 
communicated by finger signals.8
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Contributed humour
A couple are on vacation.  The husband is a keen 
fisherman and after a hard morning’s fishing 
returns home for a nap.  The wife decides to take 
the boat out and read a book.  She anchors a short 
way out and gets out her book.  Along comes a law 
enforcement officer.  “This is a restricted 
fishing area Ma’am”.  She replies “I’m reading a 
book, not fishing”.  Cynically he says “Yes, but you 
have all the equipment and I’ll have to give you a 
ticket”.
“If you do that, I’ll charge you with sexual 
assault” says the woman.
“But I haven’t even touched you” says the officer.
Her reply: “Yes, but you have all the equipment”.

Quiz (Active or Passive, page 7)
(i) Dummy may well turn up with a source of club 
tricks.  If you have tricks to establish it needs 
to be done before your A♣ is knocked out.  Lead 
2♥ (active) and hope your partner has the K♥.
(ii) Dummy’s hand has made a slam invitation which 
has been declined.  So be passive;  lead the 9♦.

Congratulations
Congratulations to Tamsin Meaney and Kay Wilson 
who have been selected to represent the Otago-
Southland region at the Interprovincial Teams 
competition at the New Zealand National 
Congress at Hamilton in June.
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What’s a psychic bid?
Very occasionally a player will, for tactical 
reasons, make a bid that gives a very wrong 
description of his hand.  An extreme case would be 
to open 1♠ with

♠ 7 6 4; ♥ Q J 4 2; ♦ 8 7 6; ♣T 9 2
Such a psychic bid is intended to deceive the 
opponents about the strength out against them.  
But it is a dangerous strategem because it 
deceives your partner also.
Associated with psychic bids is an array of bridge 
law, ethics, and simple good manners most of which 
is too extensive to cover here.  On the legal side, 
since you must disclose your bidding agreements to 
your opponents, you must not make a psychic bid if 
your partner knows that you may be doing so. That 
means that you must not psych often, otherwise 
your partner will have some inkling that you are 
doing it; that would be unauthorised information 
and so is illegal.  For that reason, most clubs ask 
that any psychic bid must be recorded afterwards 
so that clubs can prevent the building up of such 
unauthorised understandings.
OK. Suppose you have examined your conscience and 
decided that it is legal for you to psych on this 
occasion.  Should you do so?  There are obvious 
dangers: partner may bid into the stratosphere 
thinking you have a good hand.  A less obvious 
danger is that you erode partnership trust; it

is poorly placed.  It is imperative that you set up 
tricks for your side before declarer can establish 
the clubs.  You have to choose between 2♥ and 2♦.  
My own selection would be 2♦ because that will 
succeed if partner holds either A♦ or K♦ while 2♥ 
requires partner to hold at least K♥ and possibly 
Q♥ also.
Sometimes a defence might begin passively but 
then, seeing a long establishable suit in dummy, 
switches to active.
As we all know, bridge is not an exact science and 
you will often go active at the wrong time or go 
passive when it is right to be active.  But, being 
conscious of the two modes (voices?), will at least 
set you thinking along the right lines and your 
defence will improve.
Suppose you hold this modest collection:

♠ 7 6; ♥ Q 5 4 2; ♦ 9 8 7 6; ♣ A 9 2
and are on lead after the following auctions
(i)  3♣   -  P  -  6NT  -  P
(ii) 2♣   -  P  -  2NT  -  P
     4NT -  P  -  P       - P
Should the defence be active or passive, and what 
do you lead (in each case)?

  Answers on page 8.
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Passive versus active defence
To be a good defender you must know the 
distinction between active and passive defence.  An 
active defence is one where you are trying to 
establish tricks for your side; a passive one is 
where you are trying not to give tricks to the 
declarer.  So, in an active defence, you would lead 
low from K 3 2 hoping to find your partner with 
the ace or queen thereby establishing a trick for 
your king.  But, in a passive defence, you would not 
do this as you might be presenting declarer with a 
cheap trick.  Some defences are passive throughout 
while some begin passively but switch to active 
later.  Learning whether to be active or passive is 
a skill that takes a long time to master.  There 
are, however, some useful pointers revealed by the 
bidding.  Suppose you are on lead and the opponents 
have bid

1NT  -  2NT  -  3NT
Obviously they have only just enough points for 
game.  Make them work for their tricks by not 
making dangerous leads.  For example, holding
♠ 9 8 7;  ♥ A T 9 2;  ♦ Q J 4 2; ♣ K 7
lead the 9♠.  On the other hand if the bidding has 
gone

1NT  -  3♣  -  3NT
the situation is entirely different.  Here there is 
going to be a good club suit in dummy and your K♣ 

 could be very foolish to cast aside all the trust 
you have built up over months of disciplined 
bidding.  So you also have to consider if you are 
showing good manners to your partner.
OK.  Suppose your legal obligations are met, and 
you have decided to risk offending your partner.  
Are there any reasons now to prevent your psychic 
bid?  Absolutely!  If your opponents are beginners 
or markedly weaker than you then I advise you to 
forebear.  If you get a reputation for psyching 
only against weaker players then your ethical 
reputation will be in shreds.
Am I saying never psyche?  Well, almost.  I’ve 
psyched three times in the last fifteen years.  
That’s probably rare but if I had a partner who 
psyched twice a year with me I would regard it as 
frequent (and I would not be keen on playing with 
them much longer).
However, psyches do come in gradations and the 
NZCBA have made a raft of rules to try to define 
the line between “tactical bidding” and outright 
psyches.  It isn’t easy.  What if you open 1♠ on

♠ A 9 7 6 4; ♥ Q J 4; ♦ 8 7 6; ♣Q 9 2?
You might legitimately do this (say in 3rd position 
non-vulnerable).  But if it becomes a habit you 
must declare it on your convention card so that 
your opponents know what your partner will have 
learnt by playing with you over the months.
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Educating Randy 
In a desperate attempt to recapture the physical 
affections of his girl-friend Voluptua, Randy 
Hardwick was taking bridge lessons from Gordon 
Rhode.  Gordon had postponed bidding tuition until 
Randy was more competent as a declarer: the only 
convention that he had taught his aspiring pupil 
was the 4♣/5♣ ace/king asks.  This too little 
knowledge proved dangerous the first time they 
played at the club, for the last hand of the night 
(Randy West and Gordon East) was this one:

♠ T 6 5 
♥ K Q 8 6 5 2
♦ J
♣ 9 6 4

♠ A 9 3 ♠ K J 8 7
♥ A T 9 3 ♥ 7
♦ A T ♦ K 7 6 2
♣ Q J T 3 ♣ A K 7 2

♠ Q 4 2
♥ J 4
♦ Q 9 8 5 4 3
♣ 8 5

North opened the bidding with a weak 2♥.  Gordon 
(East) made the obvious take-out double.  Then 
came trouble as Randy first bid 4♣ for aces and 
then 5♣ for kings.  Receiving good news on both 

occasions he then bid 6♣ asking (so he thought) for 
queens!  But Gordon took the bid to show long clubs 
and feeling he had a little extra went on to 7♣.
Just then Voluptua came to watch and when North 
led the K♥ Randy felt under a double pressure.
He won the lead, ruffed a heart small, returned to 
his hand with the Q♣, ruffed another heart with 
the K♣, came back to his hand with the A♦ and 
ruffed his last heart.  The position now was

♠ T 6 5 
♥ Q 8
♦ 
♣ 9 6

♠ A 9 3 ♠ K J 8 7
♥ void ♥ void
♦ T ♦ K 7 6
♣ J T 3 ♣ 

♠ Q 4 2
♥ void
♦ Q 9 8
♣ 8

with the lead in dummy. Randy played the J♠, 
covered by Q♠, and won by the A♠. He drew the 
remaining trumps and, heart in mouth, ran the 9♠.  
Success! Rampant with excitement he awaited 
Voluptua’s plaudits. To his chagrin she was 
adjusting her earrings and had missed his triumph.


