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Club News
Our A-point tournament on 16 June passed 
off smoothly with everyone enjoying some 
good bridge and good food.  There were 13 
table and a total of 65 boards were played.  
The winners were Arleen Schwartz and 
Francis Sheehy with Chris Ackerley and 
Donna Ruwhiu second.  Many thanks for all 
the help willingly given by members, and a 
special thanks to Frank for directing it.
The next event on our local tournament 
calendar is the graded tournament on 4 
August.  Even if you have never played in a 
tournament before do consider this one.  
Apart from the pleasure of playing on home 
territory there are prizes for players of 
all different abilities and ranks.

Three (real) Epitaphs
1. Harry Edsel Smith of Albany, New York

Looked up the elevator shaft to 
see if the car was on the way 
down. It was.

2.  From a Georgia cemetery:
I told you I was sick.

(see page 8 for the third epitaph)

Thoughts at trick 1 (continued from page 3)
diamond (bringing down North’s king), ruff another 
heart, draw the last trump and your hand is high.
the full hand turned out to be:

♠ 6
♥ K T 6 5 2
♦ K 4 2
♣ T 9 7 2

♠ A J 9 8 3 ♠ K 5 4 2
♥ 8 ♥ Q J 7 4 3
♦ A Q T 5 3 ♦ 6
♣ K 4 ♣ A 6 5

♠ Q T 7
♥ A 9
♦ J 9 8 7
♣ Q J 8 3

Three (real) Epitaphs continued
3. Written by a widow in a Vermont cemetery

Sacred to the memory of my husband 
John Barnes who died January 3, 1803. 
His comely young widow, aged 23, has 
many qualifications of a good wife, and 
yearns to be comforted.

(Sinclair and the ♦9 diamonds - from page 5)
When Sinclair led the ♦9 South should play 
the ♦Q; North’s ♦8 then becomes powerful 
enough to prevent the spade discard.
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Thoughts at trick 1
If you have read much about declarer play 
techniques it is likely that you have come across 
this advice: after the opening lead think hard 
before you play from dummy.  It is not that the 
card to be played from dummy itself is necessarily 
crucial but this is the time to think, not at trick 
two.  Consider the following hand:
Contract 4♠ by West; lead T♣
♠ A J 9 8 3 ♠ K 5 4 2
♥ 8 ♥ Q J 7 4 3
♦ A Q T 5 3 ♦ 6
♣ K 4 ♣ A 6 5
In the bidding, North opened 2♥ which showed a 6-
10 HCP hand with exactly 5 hearts and at least 4 
cards in some minor suit.  There were two passes 
round to you, and you overcalled 2♠; your partner 
then raised to 4♠.
What are your thoughts?  You ought to reflect 
first on why North has not led a top heart: surely 
it must be because she doesn’t have both the Ace 
and King.  What do you think her minor suit is?  
There is no certainty but it is more likely to be 
clubs than diamonds (as you and dummy have more 
diamonds than clubs).  Next you inquire into the
opponent’s lead styles and are informed that the 
lead of a ten promises 0 or 2 higher cards.  That is 
a great help because you feel sure this must mean 

So here are some instances of where they are 
definitely minor keycard.
(a) 1♠ - 2♣ - 4♣
(b) 1♠ - 2♥ - 3♦ - 4♦
(c)  1♦ - 4♦
(d)  2NT - 4♣ (whether or not 2NT is a strong 
balanced hand or a weak hand with both minors!).
Here’s an example:
♠ K Q 3 ♠ A 7 4
♥ A ♥ 4 3
♦ A Q 9 6 4 3 ♦ K J 7 5
♣ A T 9 ♣ J 8 6 3
If West is the dealer the auction can go (no 
competition)
1♦ - 2♦
4♦ - 4NT (2 key cards, no queen of diamonds)
6♦ - pass
Before reading on, you might like to think about the 
play (Hint - the contract is cold).
Win the opening lead in your hand, and draw trumps 
while eliminating hearts.  Then play three rounds of 
spades ending in dummy.  Finally play a club and 
cover South’s card.  If North wins she is 
endplayed.
Next month I’ll wrap up this useful convention by 
showing how you how to incorporate King asks and 
inquiries about the queen of trumps.
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zero high cards (surely from ♣QJT.. the lead 
would be the queen).
Now, counting the points in North’s hand, it is 
certain that she has either the Q♠, or the K♦ so 
you shouldn’t try to take finesses in both diamonds 
and spades.  Which should you try?  It may appear 
not to matter but it does.  Take the spade finesse 
(playing the K♠ first) for two reasons: if it loses 
then trumps are 2-2 and you can safely take 2 
diamond ruffs in dummy, and if it wins then you 
know where the K♦ is and you can probably ruff it 
out to establish your Q♦ as a winner.
What else?  It would be nice to know which heart 
honour is held by North and there is a way to tell 
this.  If you play your singleton heart towards 
dummy what will happen?  If North holds only K♥ 
she will surely play it (after all you might hold A x 
in hearts) but if she holds only the A♥ she will 
duck (since either you have the K♥ or her partner 
has it).
After all this thought you are now ready to play 
from dummy!  Play low and win the K♣ so that you 
can play a heart.  Let’s imagine that North plays 
the K♥ and continues with another club.  You win 
and. as planned, play K♠ and then finesse in spades.  
The finesse wins and now 12 tricks are there.  You 
play A♦, ruff a diamond, ruff a heart, ruff another

Concluded on page 8 

Minor keycard Blackwood revisited
Last month I promised to write more about this 
ace-asking convention.  The basic idea is easy: 4♣ 
and 4♦ are keycard asking bids in that suit 
inquiring about the aces and king (and sometimes 
queen) of trumps.  The responses are:
First step: 0 or 3 keycards
Second step: 1 or 4 keycards
Third step: 2 keycards without the trump queen
Fourth step: 2 keycards with the trump queen
Where a partnership can easily come unstuck is in 
recognising whether or not 4♣ or 4♦ is a keycard 
ask.  I shall suggest some basic rules but, be 
aware, they are merely my own proposals and you 
might want to vary them with your own partner.  
These rules apply to uncontested auctions only 
(for in contested auctions you are simply 
competing).
1.  If a major suit fit has been agreed then 4♣ and 
4♦ are cuebids
2.  In sequences like 1♠ - 4♣ the 4♣ bid is a 
splinter
3.  If partner has opened a gambling 3NT then 4♣ 
is pass or correct
4.  In all other situations 4♣ or 4♦ is minor 
keycard; in particular these bids are never 
invitational.
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Sinclair and the Curse of Scotland
Did you know that the ♦9 is known as the “Curse 
of Scotland”?  It is not certain why it has this 
name but the two most popular explanations are
1. It was the playing card used by Sir John 
Dalrymple, the Earl of Stair, to cryptically 
authorise the Glencoe Massacre. Certainly there is 
a resemblance between the ♦9 and his coat of 
arms.
2. The Duke of Cumberland is supposed to have 
scribbled the order for "no quarter" to be given 
after the Battle of Culloden on a ♦9 playing card.
Whatever the reason it was a crucial card when 
Mr Sinclair Whitlands declared 6♥ as West (see 
the deal opposite) after he and Miss Minnie van 
Driver had  bid as follows:
Sinclair Minnie
1♥ 3♥
3S 4♣
5♥ 6♥
(The Editor writes: the bidding was well-judged.  
After Minnie’s limit raise the next two bids were 
cue bids, and Sinclair’s 5♥ asked Minnie to bid 6♥ 
if her trump holding was good).
North led Q♣ and Sinclair contemplated a dummy 
that, for once in Minnie’s bridge life, resembled 
the hand she had described in her bidding.  As was 
his wont Sinclair gravely complimented his partner

“Expertly bid, dear lady”.  Minnie flushed 
becomingly, her heart palpitating like the heroine 
in a Victorian drama.

♠ T 6
♥ T
♦ K 8 4 3
♣ Q J T 7 3 2

♠ A K 4 ♠ 5 3 2
♥ K 7 5 3 2 ♥ A Q 9 4
♦ A J T 6 ♦ 9 7 2
♣ 9 ♣ A 8 6

♠ Q J 9 8 7
♥ J 8 6
♦ Q 5
♣ K 5 4

Sinclair won in dummy and immediately ran the all-
important 9♦ to North’s K♦.  North continued 
with another club.  Sinclair drew trumps in three 
rounds ending in dummy.  Now he played another 
diamond intending to finesse but when South played 
Q♦ he was able to win with the A♦, discard a 
losing spade on the fourth diamond and ruff a 
diamond in dummy.  Notice that this line would have 
failed if the 9♦ and 8♦ had been exchanged.
But Sinclair knew he had been lucky and that the 
opponents had misdefended.  Do you see what they 
should have done?


